Nov 14, 2018
National Watermelon Promotion Board members named

Sixteen new members have been appointed to serve on the National Watermelon Promotion Board. The appointees will serve three-year terms from Jan. 1, 2019, to Dec. 31, 2021.

Members appointed are:

  • Dalton Willis Borders, Edinburg, Texas
  • Cody Buckley, San Antonio, Texas
  • Jordan Carter, Cordele, Ga.
  • Richard Chastain, Alva, Fla.
  • John Gee, Temecula, Calif.
  • Jose F. Gomez Ph.D., El Paso, Texas
  • W. Rodney Jackson, Autryville, N.C.
  • Michael J. Marks, Capron, Va.
  • Rod Rosales, Kingsburg, Calif.
  • James Sharp, Sims, N.C.
  • Matt Solana, Louisburg, N.C.
  • Carlos Vickers, Nashville, Ga.
  • Darren K. Wiggins, Center, Texas

Members re-appointed include:

  • Luke B. Brown, Center, Texas
  • Rob Greene, Arabi, Ga.
  • Jesse James Wiggins, Center, Texas

“The 1,500 growers, shippers and importers of watermelon in the United States will be well served by these board members who will provide key direction to help the watermelon industry meet consumer demand,” Perdue said.

The 41-member board is composed of 14 producers, 14 handlers, 12 importers and one public member. One-third of the Board members are appointed each year.

More information about the National Watermelon Promotion Board, including a roster of members, is available on AMS’ National Watermelon Promotion Board webpage and at the National Watermelon Promotion Board website.


Current Issue

Vegetable Growers News (VGN) May/June 2024 cover image

WSU AI program helps address water scarcity

Platform10 initiative focuses on pest, disease research

Farm market report: Inflation, farm input costs shape farm market prices

Nature’s Reward battles disease, pests through mechanization, biologicals

Fresh Views: Pollinator habitats

Successful succession

Farm Market & Agritourism: markups vs. margins


see all current issue »

Be sure to check out our other specialty agriculture brands

produceprocessingsm Organic Grower