Jan 10, 2022
Texas International Produce Association’s Hall of Fame Banquet set

Leaders of the Texas produce industry will be honored Jan. 24 at the Texas International Produce Association’s Hall of Fame Banquet.

The Texas Produce Hall of Fame was established in 1988, and has since presented 150 living and posthumous awards and 24 Scott Toothaker Awards to people who have contributed a large part of their lives to the betterment of the produce industry throughout Texas.

The inductees to be honored as leaders among the farming or sales industry of fresh produce in Texas will be the Wiesehan Family, including: John F, Raymond, Richard, Kenneth, George, John and Roger. A posthumous award will also be given to Abel Salazar of Salazar Farms. Scott Fletcher and Harold Wilkins will be honored as the 2022 recipients of the Scott Toothaker Award for their dedication and service as partners to the industry. The Scott Toothaker Award was established in 1989 for individuals who are not directly involved in production agriculture, but who have made immense contributions nonetheless.

The Hall of Fame, one of the association’s most treasured events, is held every other year by the Texas International Produce Association for the last 34 years. This banquet provides the opportunity for industry members to pay tribute to the leaders and role models who paved the way for future generations in the produce industry.

In addition, the banquet also serves as a fundraiser for the William E. Weeks Agricultural Scholarship, established to encourage future generations to carry on the hard work of past leaders and pursue education in the field of specialty crop agriculture.

Current Issue

August 2022 issue of Vegetable Growers News

Family, dedication fuel Georgia onion grower’s success

West Coast growers battle water shortages

University of Idaho researchers help develop solar-powered weeding robot

SC farming family legacy passes century mark

Greenhouse operation grows, processes and serves tomato dishes to tourists

Tools, techniques don’t solve celery meltdown

Great Lakes EXPO: Delivering the ultimate farm market

Farm Market column: What’s the difference between markup and profit?

Ag Labor Review: Will 2022 be remembered as the Year of Ag Labor Regulations?

see all current issue »

Be sure to check out our other specialty agriculture brands

produceprocessingsm Organic Grower